Medals on wooden table

Past Ondaatje Medal winners

Dr. Charles (“Chas”) Yonge

Dr. Charles (“Chas”) Yonge has made significant contributions in Canada and internationally as a climber, cave explorer, scientist, entrepreneur and author for over forty years. 

Chic Scott

Chic Scott is an adventurer, mentor, historian and writer, whose unwavering dedication to the pursuit, exploration, and enjoyment of mountaineering has led him to influence generations of Canadians through his work.

Pat and Baiba Morrow

Mountaineers, photojournalists and filmmakers; Pat was the first climber in history to reach the Seven Summits.

Wade Davis

Anthropologist, “plant explorer” and prolific author; has studied Indigenous cultures around the globe.

Richard Weber

Richard Weber is an Arctic explorer and first Canadian to reach the North Pole on foot.

Jean Lemire

Jean Lemire was leader of the expeditions Arctic Mission (2002), Whale Mission (2003), Antarctic Mission (2005) and The Last Continent (2007), all four carried aboard the Sedna IV. He has over 20 years of experience in marine biology and his filmography work includes 18 films.

George Hobson

George Hobson is a geophysicist and seismic explorer. In his position as Director of the Polar Continental Shelf Project, Hobson’s logistical support contributed enormously to scientific and exploratory work in Canada’s Arctic.

Jill Heinerth

Jill Heinerth is a Canadian cave diver, underwater explorer, writer, photographer and film-maker.